World sailing

World Sailing announces the nominees for the 2022 Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards

World Sailing announces the nominees for the 2022 Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards

by World Sailing Sep 26 02:49 PDT

World Sailing unveils the nominees for the 2022 Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards © World Sailing

Henri-Lloyd September 2022 - Sailing Sale - SW MPU
Armstrong-FG-6 300x250

World Sailing is very proud to announce the finalists for this year’s Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards.

The shortlist of sailors or crew, including world champions, Olympic medalists and world record holders, represents the wide range of disciplines in the sport of sailing and will be voted on by World Sailing Member National Authorities ( MNA), the international sailing community, fans and the public to decide on a male winner and a female winner.

Voting for the awards will open on Tuesday September 27, alongside voting for the World Sailing 11th Hour Sustainability Awards.

The Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards are recognized as the highest honor a sailor can receive in recognition of outstanding achievement in the world of sailing. This year’s awards will be presented at the World Sailing Awards on Tuesday 25 October in Abu Dhabi.

The winners will have their name engraved on the iconic marble and silver trophy representing the globe and crowned with five silver spinnakers representing the continents, as well as a personalized Rolex watch to mark the occasion.

The finalists for the Rolex World Sailor of the Year 2022 are:

Female category

  • Helene Noesmoen (FRA)
  • Odile Van Aanholt and Annette Duetz (NED)
  • Caterina Marianna Banti (Italy)

Male category

  • Ruggero Tita (Italy)
  • Jean-Baptiste Bernaz (FRA)
  • Nicolas Goyard (FRA)
  • Bart Lambriex and Floris van der Werken (NED)

Scott Over, Commercial Director of World Sailing, said: “This year’s finalists have all excelled on the water and represent a high standard and diversity of achievement in the sport. We are delighted with a shortlist which shows what an exciting sport sailing is and the talent showcased around the world at every event. Narrowing down a strong group of top sailors was an extremely difficult task for our expert jury. All are deserving winners, and we now look forward to the vote to determine the 2022 Rolex Man and Woman Sailor of the Year.”

About the Sailor of the Year Nominees

Helene Noesmoen (FRA): She was dominant in the new Olympic windsurfing gear for Paris 2024, deftly transitioning from the RS:X to the new foilboard. With no world title during the award qualifying period, she capped off her flawless season by winning the iQFOiL European Championship. Her elite skills also place her in the France SailGP team.

Odile Van Aanholt and Annette Duetz (NED): This new duo for 2022 dominated the Olympic women’s single scull event, building on past success with other partners to claim the 49erFX World Championship and second place to the Europeans. This is the second world title for Van Aanholt and the third for Duetz.

Caterina Banti (ITA): When the Nacra 17 was modified for the Paris 2024 mixed multihull event, Banti and her partner Ruggero Tita were unstoppable in the new equipment. After winning the European Championship by 74 points, their World Championship score won 14 of 16 qualifying races, easily securing the title ahead of the Medal Race.

About the Male Sailor of the Year Nominees

Ruggero Tita (ITA): After the Olympic gold medal at Tokyo 2020, Tita and his partner Caterina Banti left the Nacra 17 fleet fighting for second place in the mixed multihull event. With class-approved modifications to the rudder system that improve foiling, this team mastered the new setup, winning both European and World Championships by impressive margins.

Jean-Baptiste Bernaz (FRA): In what could be one of the toughest world titles to win, Bernaz overcame 126 sailors from 45 countries to win the ILCA 7 Men’s World Championship. at the start of the penultimate race, he regained his focus in the final to win the title by 17 points. Bernaz also excelled in match racing, winning an event on the US Grand Slam Tour, finishing second overall in this Grade 2 series.

Nicolas Goyard (FRA): Aside from his Olympic gear, Goyard has won four of the five Defi Wind races, knocking down more than 1,200 athletes in windsurfing’s biggest event. His love of foiling has combined well with the new windsurfing gear for Paris 2024, and although there were no world titles to claim during the prize qualifying period, he did score victories in iQFOiL at the French Olympic Week and at the European Championship.

Bart Lambriex and Floris van de Werken (NED): After winning the Hempel World Cup Allianz Regatta and finishing second in the European Championship in the 49er class, this Dutch duo made their mark on the Olympic single sculls event by defending their 2021 title at the World Championships Championship, securing victory before the Medal Race.

About the jury

Shirley Robertson (GBR) – Double Olympic gold medalist, entertainer and 2000 Sailor of the Year winner.
Jo Aleh (NZL) – Former Olympic and World Champion, Chairman of World Sailing Athletes’ Commission.
Yann Rocherieux (FRA) – Olympian and vice-president of World Sailing.
Theresa Zabel (ESP) – Double Olympic champion and founder of the Ecomar Foundation.
Luca Rizzotti (ITA) – Founder and President of Foiling Week, President of the International Moth Class Association.
Dee Caffari (GBR) – First woman to sail solo and non-stop around the world, President of the World Sailing Trust.
Mateusz Kusznierewicz (POL) – Double Olympic medalist, quadruple world champion.
Santiago Lange (ARG) – Former Olympic champion, America’s Cup sailor and naval architect.
Craig Leweck (USA) – Journalist, editor of Scuttlebutt News.

About the Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards

World Sailing launched the World Sailor of the Year Awards in 1994 to recognize individual sailors for their outstanding achievement in the sport. Rolex has been the title sponsor of the awards since 2001, celebrating more than 20 years of excellence in sailing.

For more information and to view the honor roll, please visit the World Sailing website.

MPU 3 Coast Guard Foundation
Doyle Sails 2020 - Pure Brilliance 300x250