World sailing

Voting open for the 2021 World Sailing Awards

Voting open for the 2021 World Sailing Awards

by World Sailing 18 November 2021 17:50 UTC

Vote for the World Sailing Awards 2021 © World Sailing

Henr-Lloyd 2021 For the Love of Bad Weather MPU
Allen 2020 - A2031XHL - 600x500

The 2021 World Sailing Awards – celebrating outstanding achievement and outstanding contributions to sailing – are now open for online voting!

A record number of athletes and projects have been nominated in this remarkable time for world sailing.

World Sailing Awards 2021 – make your voice heard

This year’s winners will be decided by a live public vote during the 2021 World Sailing Awards online show on December 2 – have your say and vote now here!

Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards: men’s and women’s categories

2021 marks the 20th year of Rolex supporting the World Sailor of the Year Award, the most prestigious individual recognition award in sailing.

A total of 13 athletes – including Olympic medalists, major offshore series winners, a world kite champion and a new world record holder – have been shortlisted.

The winners will see their name engraved on the emblematic marble and silver trophy representing the terrestrial globe, crowned with five silver spinnakers representing the continents, as well as a memory that they will keep forever close to them.

World Sailing 11th Hour Racing Sustainability Award

World Sailing and 11th Hour Racing joined forces in 2018 to celebrate the establishment of high-impact and repeatable sustainability within the maritime industry, in line with World Sailing’s 2030 sustainability agenda.

One of four shortlisted projects will win the $10,000 prize to fund its ongoing sustainability efforts and the iconic trophy made from recycled carbon fiber from an America’s Cup boat infused with organic resin.

“The four award finalists represent the incredible array of candidates for 2021,” said Todd McGuire, general manager of 11th Hour Racing. “I am excited for the future of our sport to see the variety of sustainability initiatives ranging from working to increase diversity in sailing to removing barriers to entry as well as classes, design initiatives and research and development working towards a circular economy.”

Learn more about the Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards 2021

World Sailing launched the World Sailor of the Year Awards in 1994 to recognize individual sailors for their outstanding achievement in the sport.

Since 2001, Rolex has sponsored these awards – this year marks the 20th anniversary of the Rolex Sailor of the Year Awards. View past winners.

World Sailing’s 146 national member associations and 119 classes have nominated a record 39 athletes representing a total of 19 nations from all disciplines for the 2021 Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards.

These nominations were shortlisted by a nine-person panel of experts, including five former World Sailing Award winners – Jo Aleh (NZL), Theresa Zabell (ESP), Santiago Lange (ARG), Mateusz Kusznierewicz (POL) and Shirley Robertson (GBR) – alongside Dee Caffari (GBR), Craig Leweck (USA), Yann Rocherieux (FRA) and Luca Rizzotti (ITA).

MPU E6 static question mark
Subscription to the SW newsletter