World sailing

Online voting for the World Sailing Awards >> Scuttlebutt Sailing News

The 2021 World Sailing Awards – celebrating outstanding achievement and outstanding contributions to sailing – are now open for online voting (click here). Public voting closes at 1500 UTC on December 2, after which this year’s winners will be revealed that day during the 2021 World Sailing Awards online broadcast.

Rolex Worldwide Sailor of the Year Awards
A total of 13 athletes – including Olympic medalists, major offshore series winners, a world kite champion and a new world record holder – have been shortlisted for their achievements between September 1, 2019 and August 31, 2021.

World Sailing’s 146 national member associations and 119 classes have nominated a record 39 athletes representing a total of 19 nations from all disciplines for the 2021 Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards.

These nominations were shortlisted by a panel of experts including five former World Sailing Award winners – Jo Aleh (NZL), Theresa Zabell (ESP), Santiago Lange (ARG), Mateusz Kusznierewicz (POL) and Shirley Robertson (GBR) – alongside Dee Caffari (GBR), Craig Leweck (USA), Yann Rocherieux (FRA) and Luca Rizzotti (ITA). The panel and public vote will determine the winners.

Female nominees:
• Annie-Marie Rindom (DEN)
• Martine Grael and Kahena Kunze (BRA)
• Hannah Mills and Eilidh McIntyre (GBR)
• Clarisse Cremer (FRA)
• Daniela Moroz (USA)

Male applicants:
• Peter Burling and Blair Tuke (NZL)
• Tom Slingsby (Australia)
• Yannick Bestaven (FRA)
• Kiran Badloe (NED)
• Giles Scott (GBR)

To read their achievements, click here.

World Sailing 11th Hour Racing Sustainability Award
World Sailing and 11th Hour Racing joined forces in 2018 to celebrate the establishment of high-impact and repeatable sustainability within the maritime industry, in line with World Sailing’s 2030 sustainability agenda.

One of the four shortlisted projects will win the $10,000 prize to fund its ongoing sustainability efforts and the iconic trophy made from recycled carbon fiber from an America’s Cup boat infused with organic resin.

“The four award finalists represent the incredible diversity of 2021 nominees,” said Todd McGuire, general manager of 11th Hour Racing. “I am excited for the future of our sport to see the variety of sustainability initiatives ranging from working to increase diversity in sailing to removing barriers to entry as well as classes, design initiatives and research and development working towards a circular economy.”

Four finalists:
• Sail Africa Youth Development Foundation
• Beat the SuMoth Challenge
• International Association of Optimist Dinghies
• Northern Light Srl

For more information, click here.

To vote, click here.

Former recipients of the Rolex World Sailor of the Year Award:
2019 Marco Gradoni (ITA), Anne-Marie Rindom (DEN)
2018 Pavlos Kontides (CYP), Carolijn Brouwer (NED) / Marie Riou (FRA)
2017 Peter Burling (NZL), Marit Bouwmeester (NED)
2016 Santiago Lange (ARG), Hannah Mills and Saskia Clark (GBR).
2015 Peter Burling & Blair Tuke (NZL), Sarah Ayton (GBR)
2014 James Spithill (AUS), Martine Grael & Kahena Kunze (BRA)
2013 Mat Belcher (AUS), Jo Aleh & Polly Powrie (NZL)
2012 Ben Ainslie (GBR), Lijia Xu (CHN)
2011 Iker Martinez & Xabier Fernandez (ESP), Anna Tunnicliffe (USA)
2010 Tom Slingsby (AUS), Blanca Sleeve (ESP)
2009 Torben Grael (BRA), Anna Tunnicliffe (USA)
2008 Ben Ainslie (GBR), Alessandra Sensini (ITA)
2007 Ed Baird (USA), Claire Leroy (FRA)
2006 Mike Sanderson (NZL), Paige Railey (USA)
2005 Fernando Echavarri & Anton Paz (ESP), Ellen MacArthur (GBR)
2004 Robert Scheidt (BRA), Sofia Bekatorou & Emilia Tsoulfa (GRE)
2003 Russell Coutts (SUI), Siren Sundby (NOR)
2002 Ben Ainslie (GBR), Sofia Bekatorou & Emilia Tsoulfa (GRE)
2001 Robert Scheidt (BRA), Ellen MacArthur (GBR)
2000 Mark Reynolds & Magnus Liljedahl (USA), Shirley Robertson (GBR)
1999 Mateusz Kusznierewicz (POL), Margriet Matthijse (NED)
1998 Ben Ainslie (GBR), Carolijn Brouwer (NED)
1997 Pete Goss (GBR), Ruslana Taran & Elena Pakholchik (UKR)
1996 Jochen Schümann (GER), Lai Shan Lee (HKG)
1995 Russell Coutts (NZL), Isabelle Autissier (FRA)
1994 Peter Blake (NZL) & Robin Knox-Johnston (GBR), Theresa Zabell (ESP)