World sailing

Lewin-Lafrance sisters of Chester post top Canadian result at world sailing championships

Sisters Georgie and Antonia Lewin-Lafrance highlighted Canadian results at the World Sailing Championships in St. Margaret’s Bay on Monday.

The Chester Sailors placed 14th overall in the 49er FX Division. The duo’s best races included a fifth and a pair of sixths for 221.1 points in the 16-race competition.

Odile van Anholt and Annette Duetz won the championship with 84 points, including three first and four seconds. Vilma Bobeck and Rebecca Netzler of Sweden were second with 103 points while Spain’s Tamara Echegoyen and Paula Barcelo rounded out the top three with 127 points.

Canadians Alexandra ten Hove and Mariah Millen finished 19th with 266 points while Tate Howell and Adrianna Baird ranked 50th.

Bart Lambriex and Floris van de Werken of the Netherlands won the 49er division with a 16-run score of 76 points. Spaniards Diego Botin and Florian Trittel Paul finished second with 99 points, followed by Croatians Sime and Mihovil Fantela with 104 points.

The top Canadian team was Arie Moffat and Samuel Bonin, who placed 33rd with 212 points. Other Canadian results were: William Jones and Evan Depaul 39th, Ryan and Andrew Wood 56th, Alexander Heinzemann and Edward Coleman 57th, Thomas and William Staples 59th, Dylan Jones and Jonathan Kelly 61st, John Goga and Hunter Hoy (Royal Nova Scotia Yacht Squadran ) 62nd and Ben Cripton and Rafae; Pedro 65th.

In the NACRA 17 category, the Italian team of Ruggero Tita and Caterin Banti topped the field with 14 first places and a second en route to the championship with 16 points.

Compatriots Gianluigi Ugolini and Maria Giubilei finished a distant second with 82 points followed by Finns Sinem Kurtbay and Akseli Keskinen with 87 points.

Canadians Galen Richardson and Madeline Gillis (Royal Nova Scotia Yacht Squadran) placed 31st, Zoe Roosen and Nicolas Tosi 33rd and Maya Heidenreich and Noah Adler (Royal Nova Scotia Yacht Squadran) 34th.

More than 400 sailors from 32 countries took part in the six-day competition.