World sailing

Changes for World Sailing Branded Events >> Scuttlebutt Sailing News

The Hague, the Netherlands, will become the international capital of sailing in 2023 following a joint decision by World Sailing, the Royal Netherlands Watersport Association, the Municipality of The Hague and TIG Sports to move the championships from the 2022 sailing world to the summer of 2023.

The next edition of the Sailing World Championships will be held in 2023 from August 10 to 20 and will make Scheveningen the capital of competitive sailing with The Ocean Race which is also preparing to invade the Dutch coast.

In addition to the new dates for the Sailing World Championships, the Youth Sailing World Championships, due to be held in The Hague in July 2021, have also been postponed to 2022.

The decision to reorganize the World Sailing Championships and World Youth Sailing Championships follows global challenges caused by the COVID-19 pandemic and the rescheduling of the Tokyo 2020 Olympics to 2021.

“The Youth Sailing World Championships and the Sailing World Championships are two of the most important sailing events an athlete can aspire to participate in,” explained Kim Andersen, President of World Sailing.

“The postponement of Tokyo 2020 has forced sailors and our MPs to rearrange their priorities for 2021. Moving the 2021 Youth Sailing World Championships to a new venue towards the end of the year will ensure maximum efforts are made to organize a successful event.

“The 2022 Youth Worlds will be the first point of contact for the Dutch population and will provide organizers with key opportunities to test operations ahead of the 2023 World Championships.

“The 2023 Sailing World Championships is the main qualifying event for the Paris 2024 Olympic Games. Giving our teams and sailors more time to prepare after Tokyo 2020 in 2021 will ensure that the best talent in sailing present to a global audience.

“We look forward to continuing the strong relationship with The Hague and its established partners by hosting two championships that set the bar even higher.”

Yann Rocherieux, World Sailing Athletes’ Commission Chairman and World Sailing Board Member, highlighted how the Sailing World Championships are the key performance indicator of an Olympic-class sailor on the road to the Olympic Games. “It’s a show where the best sailors go for world championship glory and an Olympic qualification spot,” said Rocherieux.

“Tokyo 2020’s postponement has forced sailors to reset and adjust their campaigns. By hosting the World Sailing Championships in 2023, sailors will have more time to focus on the event when Tokyo 2020 ends in the summer. next.

“The Hague is a fantastic sailing location that tests the all-round abilities of every sailor. The competition will be wide open at the Youth Sailing World Championships and Sailing World Championships and I am delighted to see it taking place in 2022 and 2023.”

Alastair Fox, events director at World Sailing, added that up to 100 nations are expected to take part in the championships and that the decision to postpone both events for a year will allow sailors, coaches, officials and organizers to prepare properly and provide an exceptional experience. competition.

The Hague is the third largest city in the Netherlands, after Amsterdam and Rotterdam, with a population of 525,000. The competition will take place on the North Sea where conditions can vary at short notice, ensuring competitors have a real test on the water with varying wind conditions and challenging tide patterns.

World Sailing is now looking for a venue to host the 2021 Youth Sailing World Championships in December 2021. MPs and host cities wishing to host the event should contact the World Sailing Events team: [email protected]

Source: Daniel Smith, World Sailing

About the Sailing World Championships
The World Sailing Championships are the main qualifying event for Olympic sailing competition. Only the events and equipment included in the next Olympic Sailing Competition are included in the program of the Championships.

Cadiz, Spain hosted the first world championships in 2003 before Cascais, Portugal built on its success to host 1,350 sailors and 900 boats from 76 nations in 2007.

Perth, Australia hosted the third Worlds in December 2011. 1,200 sailors from 79 nations competed, vying for world championship glory and Olympic qualification.

The event returned to Spain in 2014 and to the city of Santander where over 1,100 sailors in 700 boats raced over a two-week period. The event saw 50% of the places for the Rio 2016 Olympic Games sold out.

The Hempel World Sailing Championships, held at the Aarhus International Sailing Center on the edge of Aarhus Bay from July 31 to August 12, 2018, was the most recent event and saw 40% of Tokyo’s Olympic berths 2020 awarded.

The 2023 edition will include the Olympic events and the para-world sailing classes.

About the Youth Sailing World Championships
The World Youth Sailing Championships were first held in Angelholm, Sweden in 1971, where 16 nations competed for the inaugural titles in the two-person, 420 and Flipper dinghies.

As the regatta evolved other classes were added to bring together the best young sailing talent from around the world in one place and in 1984 the windsurfer Mistral was added to the roster of events with Knut Budig (GER) winning the first gold medal in San Diego, CA.

Open to sailors aged 19 and under, the 49th version of the Youth Worlds will travel to Gdynia, Poland from July 13-20, 2019, as the stars of the future are born again.

Notable past winners include American’s Cup skippers Chris Dickson (NZL), Russell Coutts (NZL), Dean Barker (NZL); Olympic medalists, Ben Ainslie (GBR), Robert Scheidt (BRA), Alessandra Sensini (ITA), Iain Percy (GBR) and Elise Rechichi (AUS); Volvo Ocean Race sailors like Stuart Bannatyne (NZL) and Richard Clarke (CAN).

The United States is currently the holder of the Nations Trophy, awarded each year to the best performing nation at the Youth Worlds. The Nations Trophy was first introduced in 1991 and in 1999 became the Volvo Trophy until 2010.